That Poetry Slam

The poetry slam I sat at

had poets recite poems

about love, life and death…

This guy who recited religion

This guy who recited love

The girl who recited acceptance

I was there,

Oh! was I there!

as words spun into poems.

As the words entered me

a gallop of air engulfed

I was there!

The poetry slam I sat

had poets recite poems

about love, life and death…

This guy who recited his mother

earning for her embrace

and as I settled down,

my tears refused to do the same.

Home- defined by her mere presence

wasn’t with me,

as she smiled at me countries away.

I was there

Oh! was I there!

The poetry slam I sat at

had poets recite poems

about love, life and death.

~Freida

5593023301_b8abe05cb4

Leave a Reply

