ABOUT HIM AND HER…

HER:                                                                                                     

We were on two lands

but the same soil.                                                        

 Water separated us

with no means of crossing.

He used to sit by the river

reading poetry,

I used to sit by the river

reading him.

His eyes reflected beautiful torture,

lips read along lines

fingers tracing the pages,

legs resting impatiently.

He was handsome,

not his body

but his soul. 

One day he looked up,

my eyes surprised

could not hide the blood rush to my cheeks.

His eyes reflected fear

and I remember dying.

I should have known,

a boy like him

a heart like his

would never beat for a soul like mine.

The next day,

I waited by the water,

He never came.

HIM:

We were on two lands

but the same soil.

Water separated us

with no means of crossing.

She used to sit by the river

reading me,

I used to sit by the river

reading empty pages.

My eyes darted to get a glimpse of her,

lips parted in nervousness,

fingers lingering on the pages.

She was a beautiful chaos

but my eyes had no proof.

I dare never look up.

One day, tired of cowardice

I looked at her,

Her eyes big as an owl

and iris black as coal,

her hair flying in the wind

and I remember dying.

But her land was fire.

Destruction raked around her .

People dying, houses burnt.

Fear crept inside me,

She was hell!

Oh but was she beautiful!

So beautiful!

She drew me closer

and I soon crossed the separation,

but a boy from heaven

was too pure for hell.

I screamed as the fire consumed me.

I screamed at her to turn, to look back

one last time,

before I was consumed

but she never heard.

Her hair was fire

Her eyes, gasoline

and while she burnt bright,

I died.

~Freida

(Inspired by my own heartbreak over a stranger that never knew me…) 

                                     

2 thoughts on “ABOUT HIM AND HER…

Leave a Reply

