THE LAST WORDS OF A LEAF

via Daily Prompt: Baby

Baby

I was about to fall. The root of my existence attached to the stem felt weak and tender. It was going to drop me, I knew it. Over the past few weeks, I had grown brown and old. My body once green and youthful now lay awaiting ‘the fall’. I was good enough and I knew it. No other leaf had worked harder and better than me in providing growth to this plant and for that everyone will miss me or so they say. The new leaves with their shining complexion and vigor had taken over our jobs and no one could blame them. We gave birth to them, they are our babies, they were my babies and as a mother, I am proud. So I lie here, awaiting death as I sacrifice myself for this marvelous creation of nature that humans so ruthlessly cut down, unaware of the lives that have befallen in order to protect it.

~Freida

 

Leave a Reply

