POETRY

The Bindi I wear…

I put on my jeans

and that cropped top.

My friends and their compliments;

I smiled.

I took the small dot in my fingers,

stuck it on my forehead.

“Ew” they exclaimed.

“You look Indian” they said.

“Take it off” they persisted.

I smiled.

“An Indian is who I am,

culture is what I am dripping in,

bindi is what I want to decorate my forehead in.

The feminine beauty of this dot,

passed on from generations,

I don’t want it to stop with us.

So let me wear it

while you let your forehead bare

like the rest of the world.”

 

~ Freida

2 thoughts on “The Bindi I wear…”

Leave a Reply

