THE GIRL AND THE PIANO ( and what happened to her music…)

My love for the piano;
with the big white keys
and the small black ones;
ten was the number;
I had learnt to play;
rhymes and songs
jingles and pieces
with reading notes alike.
It was a love worth loving.

 

My love for the piano;
led me to music;
a vast sea where people drown
the weight of dreams
the weight of fame
the weight of expectations
harboring them,
into the cold ocean floor
where dead weeds grow.
It was a love worth drowning.

 

My love for the piano
lasted till sixteen was my age;
The alphabets had become lessons
The numbers had become algorithms
The notes of my piano, a burden.
Marks plummeting,
I blamed that sweet piano;
silent and hopeful as it stood,
I abandoned it with a single nod.
It was a love worth betraying.

 

My love for the piano
igniting inside me.
I made a vow;
to touch the keys one last time
to touch the keys once before I breathe my last.
To learn it.
To love it.
To worship it.
Oh! My love for the piano,
it will be a love worth hoping.

~ Freida

Leave a Reply

